RSS

Glasgow’s city of the dead..

04 Nov

When I was much younger, I hated hearing or seeing anything that had to do with death, ghosts, cemeteries and the likes. I hated that word mortuary. I hated graves. The thought of them could give me nightmares even while awake.

That was a long time ago. Now I am not scared of dead bodies. They have become just one of those things. When I pass by a cemetery, or have conversations about death, many times, nothing extraordinary runs through my mind. Sometimes though, I get to think deep.

Welcome to Glasgow’s Necropolis.

IMG_5620

I cycle by the Necropolis almost everyday and on most of these days, I’m absent-minded as I cycle through. Maybe I’m just too used to seeing all those graves. But somehow, every once-in-awhile, they remind me. What do graves and tombstones remind you of?

מוות

Death comes to all. It’s a debt we all must pay. Someday, it will be my turn. It will be yours. When that time comes, will you be ready to face it? Will you wish you lived life differently? Will you be calm and rested, knowing where you will end up in the after-life? Will you wish you had more time?

I am not preoccupied with death or any of it’s cousins. I just feel certain it is a wise thing to think about regularly. When I think about it, I don’t feel sad or depressed. What I do is, I get sober. I calm down. I then put all my ambitions and aspirations in perspective.

A wise king pondered on these things thousands of years ago and had this to say,

It is better to go to a home where there is mourning than to one where there is a party, because the living should always remind themselves that death is waiting for us all.

Sorrow is better than laughter; it may sadden your face, but it sharpens your understanding.

Someone who is always thinking about happiness is a fool. A wise person thinks about death.

IMG_5612

That’s a city all by itself – only the people who live there are not alive anymore.

The wise king pondered a lot,

Yes, the living know they are going to die, but the dead know nothing. They have no further reward; they are completely forgotten. Their loves, their hates, their passions, all died with them. They will never again take part in anything that happens in this world.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 4, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
