RSS

Fusion..

03 Nov

I was looking through Frances’ blog and saw pictures from last January’s Ceilidh..
I know I know – this is not another Ceilidh post.

img_1425

What this is about is this: Fusion.

The last Ceilidh I attended redefined what comes to my mind when I think of Ceilidh.
Now I don’t think of the traditional bagpipes just droning off in solo.
What I picture is the bagpipe playing in concert with electric pianos, drums, rock guitars, flutes, etc.
Rock, classical, funk, jazz – the progression could be anything, all smooth and refreshing. So avantgarde.
I think it’s nice how people experiment with tradition and expand it by fusing elements from other places.

Soon, there should be Dubstep Ceilidh. If there isn’t already, I might want to pioneer it and carve a niche therein. Take anything and fuse it with anything – in a sensible and creative way. That is what I call fusion. Fusion is almost always beautiful.

Now, fusion applies well not just in music. One other kind of fusion I’ve seen here in Glasgow is the one at GCU. It’s the variety that students from over a hundred countries bring from their countries. Isn’t that musical too? I suppose it is.

I remember some time two semesters ago, it was Kuwaiti national day. My Kuwaiti friends brought cakes and tea to class and we all celebrated. A few times, my Nigerian friends have taught Azonto and Etighi to students from other countries. I have learnt a few things about German culture. How about my friends from India? I could go on, but I will stop right here.

Fusion is a good thing. Embrace it.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 3, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
