RSS

Boring Ceilidh turned fun..

15 Oct

I looked forward to today’s Ceilidh for the past several days..
It was going to be the first Ceilidh I would have outside the walls of Glasgow Caledonian.

Mariela posted a pic of the venue on facebook and I just knew I would be there.

venue

It was for 8pm so I tidied up my activities for today so I could be as early as possible to the venue. I imagined that a lot of my friends would be there and it was going to be sooooo fun.

Because of a scheduled piano teaching session I had by 7pm, I could not be at the Ceilidh for 8. I wasn’t bothered to get there 9 because the event would end at midnight. I didn’t think I would stay till midnight anyways.

Yea, I got to the venue at about 9pm. Entering into the hall, I scanned around. There was a dance going on. I couldn’t see one single person I knew. Where are my GCU folks? I panned right, left and centre, no one. I had no time getting depressed, there was some cool fusion ceilidh music going on on stage. I walked to the stage and took a short video. I’ve heard this style of Ceilidh music the band was playing, a few times and I always thought about it as “fusion ceilidh.” You know, it sounded so contemporary, so avant-garde. I loved the blend so well I knew I was going to ask the sound engineers or the band, where I could get those sounds from, after the event.

My excitement didn’t last long – the band ended the performance like 5 minutes later. Everyone on the dance floor went back to sit. Quickly I got pondering why I came for this event. I took a few pictures and started getting my mind ready to leave. One thing though, I would have one dance before leaving. Just one.

Soon enough, the announcement rang out, ”to the dance floor.” I went to the floor to give it a go. I planned to leave after that session. Somehow, the dance session turned out to be so fun that I let go of the thought to leave. “Maybe just one more..” I had one more, then another.. and another.

My first dance group

Between two of the dance sessions, the band did some cool instrumental as the dance instructor made announcements. As the instrumental went on, a group of friends spontaneously began a choreography and what a lovely sight it was to behold. Before I thought to whip my phone out to do a recording, the choreography was almost ending. See what my camera caught..

I love these guys..

 

I met the leader of the band after the last session, and he told me this style of Ceilidh is called Ceilidh Rock.
I was so glad I didn’t leave in a rush. It turned out to be the best Ceilidh event I have ever attended.

Time to catch some sleep. Good night friends and see you in the next post.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on October 15, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

4 responses to “Boring Ceilidh turned fun..

  1. ifeoluwa

    October 16, 2014 at 8:00 am

    I told u, just be patient. Nice blog though

     
    • Eit Neves

      October 16, 2014 at 8:07 am

      Thanks Ife. I’m really glad I stayed. I eventually. I have a video but it’s too long to post.

       
  2. vomoka200

    October 16, 2014 at 8:52 am

    Glad you had fun. Hope I get the opportunity to attend a rock ceilidh soon 🙂

     
    • Eit Neves

      October 16, 2014 at 8:53 am

      Sure sure. You’ll not regret attending.

       

Leave a Reply

 
